J/70 UK Class celebrate a fantastic 2021 season

The 2021 J/70 UK Grand Slam winners were presented with their trophies at the Royal Thames Yacht Club, Knightsbridge on Friday 10th December. 59 teams entered the 2021 season with the J/70 UK Class enjoying a fantastic seven months of racing. The 2021 season included seven Grand Slam Events plus five fast and furious Sprint Series Regattas.

Nick Phillips’ Chaotic (RTYC) won three of the Grand Slam Events, including the Royal Southern YC Salcombe Gin Regatta, Cowes Week, and the Open J/70 UK National Championship. Chaotic was the overall winner of the 2021 J/70 Grand Slam Series. Johnathan Calascione & James Peters’ Calypso (RYS) was runner up for the season, and Paul Ward’s Eat Sleep J Repeat (RSrnYC) was third.

Doug Struth’s DSP (RSrnYC) was the Corinthian winner of the 2021 J/70 Grand Slam Series. DSP made a late charge for the season, culminating in a superb performance winning the Corinthian J/70 UK National Championship. Second by a single point for the season was Charles Thompson’s Brutus II (RSrnYC). Patrick Liardet’s Cosmic (RSrnYC) was third.

© Paul Wyeth

The 2022 Season will kick off in April with a Training Clinic organised by Dog Palfrey. A new venue for 2022 will be the International Paint Poole Regatta which will be one of seven UK Grand Slam Events. The 2022 J/70 UK National Championships will be held during the J/Cup organised by the Royal Ocean Racing Club.

For more information about the J/70 UK Class including membership and charter opportunities visit http://www.j-70.co.uk